Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Get some useful tips to improve the way you use Navicat.

Windows:

Open Windows Explorer:
target connection & “Ctrl + G”


History log:
Ctrl + H
(the log will be over-written when Navicat restarts)


Open a query editor:
Ctrl + Q


Find record in a table:
Ctrl + F


Open multiple windows:
“Tools” menu > “Options” > “General” > “Allow Multiple Form Instance” & “Allow Multiple Navicat Instances” > OK


Starts import wizard:
Drag import files over and drop into the target database


Edit value:
“Tools” menu > “Server Monitor” > targeted database type > “Variable” tab > click the button next to the value/ press “Ctrl + Enter” > edit value > “OK”
(edit values directly for the variables in MySQL & Oracle servers only)

Create open table shortcut:
right click a table > “Create Open Table Shortcut…” > the table shortcut can be saved outside Navicat


Action to a query by right-drop:
Right-drop a query from Navicat to a Windows location > Copy/ Move/ Create query shortcuts


Action to a query by left-drop:
Left drop a query from Navicat to Windows location> Move query


Available batch job list:
New “Batch Job” > Navicat logo on the left panel > the data transfer & data synchronization profiles are shown on “Available Jobs” column


Enable the table hint option:
“Tools” menu > “Options…” > “Appearance” > “Main Window” > “General” > check “Show table hint” > OK > point at a table to show the hint


Show objects’ detail:
“View” menu > check “Detail”


Rearrange & specify columns:
“View” menu > “Choose Columns…”





Mac:

Open log:
Cmd – L



Find record in a table:
Cmd – F


Open multiple windows:
Menu > “Preference” > “General” tab > check “Allow opening multiple instances”


Starts import wizard:
Drag import files over and drop into the target database



Edit value:
Menu > “Tools” > “Server Monitor” > “Variables” tab > click the button next to the value > edit value > “OK”
(edit values directly for the variables in MySQL & Oracle servers only)


Open table:
Simply drag & drop the table from Navicat to the desired location



Available batch job list:
New “Batch Job” > Navicat logo on the left panel > the data transfer & data synchronization profiles are shown on “Available Jobs” column 



Enable/ disable primary key warning:
Menu > “Preferences” > “Grids” tab > check/ uncheck “Show primary key warning”



Show objects’ detail:
Menu > “View” > check “Detail”



Rearrange & specify columns:
Menu > “View” > “Customize Columns…”





Linux:

History log:
Ctrl + H

(the log will be over-written when Navicat restarts)


Open a query editor:
Ctrl + Q


Find record in a table:
Ctrl + F



Open multiple windows:
“Tools” menu > “Options” > “General” > “Allow Multiple Form Instance” & “Allow Multiple Navicat Instances” > OK



Starts import wizard:
Drag import files over and drop into the target database


Edit value:
“Tools” menu > “Server Monitor” > targeted database type > “Variable” tab > click the button next to the value/ press “Ctrl + Enter” > edit value > “OK”

(edit values directly for the variables in MySQL & Oracle servers only)


Available batch job list:
New “Batch Job” > Navicat logo on the left panel > the data transfer & data synchronization profiles are shown on “Available Jobs” column



Enable the table hint option:
“Tools” menu > “Options…” > “Appearance” > “Main Window” > “General” > check “Show table hint” > OK > point at a table to show the hint



Show objects’ detail:
“View” menu > check “Detail”



Rearrange & specify columns:
“View” menu > “Choose Columns…”

Check out our other tutorials at bit.ly/navicatyoutube.



Thursday, September 15, 2016

Navicat Tips: How to create model from an existing database using Navicat Data Modeler?


Conditions:
  1.       Import tables through ODBC (through MariaDB in Linux version)
  2.       Use the “Microsoft Access Driver” to add a new data source


Windows:
Select “Tools” in the menu bar > Choose “Import from Database…” > Click “Manage Connection” > (Bottom left corner) “Manage Connection” > Select “ODBC” in “New Connection” from the dropdown list


Go to “Administrative Tools” in Control Panel > Select Database Sources
(select 32-bit ODBC Database Sources if using a 32-bit Navicat Data Modeler; select 64-bit ODBC Database Sources while using a 64-bit Navicat Data Modeler)



“User DSN” tab > Click “Add…” > Select “Microsoft Access Driver (*mdb) > Input Data Source Name in the setup window > Click “Select…” > Select database file > Click “OK” > Close the window when finish the settings 


Click “Manage Connection” > “New Connection” > Select “ODBC” > Set up the connection by inputting Connection Name > Select Data Source > Click “OK”


(You can also import connections that established in other Navicat Software to Navicat Data Modeler.)

Select the connection > Click “Manage Connection” > Choose “Import Connections from Navicat…” > Select connection(s) to import > Click “OK” 


Choose objects > Click “Start” to import 



Mac:
Select “import from Database” from “File” menu > Click “New Connection” > Choose “ODBC” 


Set up the connection > Click “OK”

(You can also import connections that established in other Navicat Software to Navicat Data Modeler.)

Click “Import Connection” > Select connection(s) to import > Click “OK” 


Select the connection > Click “Continue” > Choose object(s) to import > Click “Continue” > Click “Import” to start 



Linux:
Select “Tools” from menu bar > Choose “Import from Database…” > Click “Manage Connection” > Click “Manage Connection” button at the bottom left corner > Click “New Connection > Select “ODBC” > Set up the connection > Click “OK” 


(You can also import connections that established in other Navicat Software to Navicat Data Modeler.)

Click “Manage Connection” > Choose “Import Connections from Navicat…” > Select connection(s) to import > Click “OK” 



Select the connection > Choose object(s) to import > Click “start” to import 

Check out our other tutorials at bit.ly/navicatyoutube.